Motorcycle Helmet Law in Florida
Some bikers in Florida and elsewhere believe the experience of riding without a helmet is like no other. It is freedom, freedom at last. You can ride legally in Florida without a helmet, but only if you follow certain legal requirements. First, you have to be at least 21 years old. Then, you have to buy at least $ 10,000 in medical payments insurance on your motorcycle. Finally, you still have to wear eye protection, even if you aren’t wearing a helmet.
But should you ride without a helmet if you can legally do so? Of course not. Even with a helmet, serious life altering brain injuries can occur from even minor accidents. Without a helmet, you can fall of your motorcycle sitting still and suffer a brain injury that changes your life forever. You really have to be out of your mind to ride a motorcycle in traffic in Florida without a helmet. So, don’t do it. Buy plenty of motorcycle insurance and uninsured motorist coverage, but ride safely and with all the proper equipment.