Dont Wait To Seek Treatment After An Auto Accident
Florida’s New Motor Vehicle No Fault Law Is Now In Effect
In the past, every Florida family automobile insurance policy had to provide $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) benefits to cover the majority of the policy holder’s wage loss and medical expenses incurred as a result of an accident, or at least up to the $10,000 policy limits. The new law makes drastic changes to that coverage. Now, the $10,000.00 in PIP benefits I only available once there is a showing by a medical doctor, osteopath, dentist, physician’s assistant or registered nurse practitioner, that injuries sustained in the accident required “immediate medical attention.” By immediate, that means within 14 days of the accident. If no evaluation is sought within that time limit, your PIP benefits will be waived. So, now on Day 15 following an accident, if you still feel sore and seek medical attention, you no longer have PIP benefits.
Now it is more important than ever for you to seek medical attention immediately after an accident and to contact an attorney to be informed your rights and how to properly follow the procedures under the new No Fault Law.
Injured in an automobile, truck or motorcycle accident? Call today for a FREE CONSULTATION. You owe us Nothing unless we recover money for you.