The hiring of a law firm is an important decision that should not be based solely on advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. Personal Injury Lawyers serving Daytona, Melbourne, Orlando, Florida and Nationwide.This website is not intended for viewing or usage by European Union citizens.
All Florida automobile insurance must have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage that covers the first $ 10,000 in medical expenses and lost wages sustained as a result of injuries in an automobile accident. In 2013, the Florida legislature enacted sweeping changes in a purported effort to curb alleged billing abuse by medical and chiropractic clinics and fraudulent claims. When it was all said and done, this merely meant putting more limits on the rights of policy holders. For example, the insurance policy holder now only has 14 days to seek the initial treatment after an automobile accident. If an injured policy holder doesn’t seek the initial treatment within the first 14 days after an accident, they get no PIP benefits at all. In other words, the policy holder paid a premium for $ 10,000 in medical and wage loss benefits that are completely lost if treatment isn’t sought within the first 14 days. Even if treatment is sought in the first 14 days, policy holders are only entitled to $ 2,500 in benefits unless an “emergency medical condition” was diagnosed. Again, the policy holder paid a premium for $ 10,000 in medical and wage loss benefits that they may never be eligible to receive unless they go to the right doctor at the right time and get the right diagnosis.
The lesson? Get prompt treatment after and automobile accident from a qualified physician, and if your condition and time permit, consult with an experienced automobile accident attorney who can help you navigate this complex auto insurance scheme.